Details about Chardham of Uttarakhand
chardham yatra details

The Chardham yatra of India is very religious and sacred Dham yatra which plays a vital role in Hindu religion, is a set of four Hindu pilgrimages in Uttarakhand    and a great significance in Hindu religion, the temples of Chardham is located in Garhwal region Uttarakhand , the Chardham are Yamunotri, Gangotri, Badrinath, and Kedarnath.

Yamunotri: First Dham

Yamunotri is called the first stop of Chardham Yatra. In Yamunotri, there is a beautiful temple built in Yamuna’s hill style and near the temple is the source of scorching water, which is the center of attraction of pilgrims. To reach Yamunotri, you can reach from Dehradun or Rishikesh from Delhi via air travel or rail travel. From here, the road and the last few kilometers can reach Yamunotri.

Gangotri Dham: Second Dham

Gangotri is the second stop for the Chardham Yatra. Visiting Yamunotri, pilgrims travel to Gangotri for the worship of Ganga Mata. The natural source of the Ganga is 18 km from the Gomukh Glacier Gangotri, distance from Yamunotri to Gangotri by Road is 219 Kms and from Rishikesh the distance is 265km.

Kedarnath Dham: Third Dham

The third stop for the Chardham yatra is Kedarnath Dham which is located in Rudraprayag district of Uttarakhand. Gaurikund distance from Rishikesh is 76 km and can reach Kedarnath by the distance of 18 km from here. A 4-meter wide road has been made between Kedarnath and Panchali so that devotees can easily reach Kedarnath.

Badrinath Dham: Fourth Dham

The Fourth Dham of Chardham yatra is Badrinath, which is situated on the right bank of the river Alaknanda.

It opens in the month of May- June and closes in the month of November, and the temperature of Badrinath is very cold.

Trains go to Badrinath Dham, so the weather does not have to go pedestal. Badrinath is also called Baikunth Dham. To reach here, Rishikesh can be reached via Devprayag, Srinagar, Rudraprayag, Karnprayag, Chamoli, and Govindghat.


Here were the details related to Chardham Yatra of Uttarakhand. For further details, you may contact us or click here.

About Author



Leave a Reply